Interactive Design: Gallery Write Up

 

img_5653                             20170503_163544.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

On Monday May 1st, I decided to go to Alfred University’s ceramic gallery which showcased a variety of unique designs using ceramics. My initial thoughts when observing a variety of pieces in this gallery were that of amazement in the depth that each piece held individually. Since I was attending this gallery for Interactive Design I wanted to take a closer look at some of the design aspects from the pieces that I decided to write about. When thinking of design elements I looked for certain color, or molding in the ceramics.

The first piece (top) I found interesting was by an artist named Mark Burns and it was entitled “Spooks”. “Spooks” was a ceramic piece that captured my attention because it stood out amongst all of the other pieces in the gallery. The very dark and twisted characters were something that I found interesting. The piece as a whole used intense colors and very abstract forms that gave even more depth to the piece as a whole. When looking at this piece I imagined some type of creepy animation in my head in which the three figures standing up were insane doctors performing experiments on patients. Whereas the head in the chair is one of these “experiments”. As the name entitles, I expect that this piece was not meant to be a very joyous or jolly piece; it was meant to incite a chill down your spine and feel grotesque.

The second piece (bottom) was by Lee Somers and this piece was entitled “Scape IV”. Now when I initially looked at this piece I had to look at it several times to truly grasp the entirety of it. Somers does a fantastic job of creating these overlapping layers within this ceramic piece, which is made up of different broken ceramic pieces and objects. The color palette used for this work gave for a very open and majestic feel as a whole. In terms of overall design it almost seems as though it is but a fragment of an even larger work, which gave it this very damaged yet abstract look. The strengths of this piece definitely stem from the overlaying of certain ceramics on top of one another. It gives the piece volume, rather than having it be this flat surfaced ceramic tile.

Overall both pieces in this gallery were truly eye opening in terms of design technique and style. When it comes to my art I often leave one layer for my work to sit on, which often makes it look flat. However, after seeing this ceramic art it made we wonder if I could push my artwork to have layers that add an overall depth to it. This gallery truly highlights the importance of depth and overlay in terms of design.

 

 

This entry was posted in Non-Timebased, Research, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

