Senior Seminar: Final Presentation connections

During my senior seminar presentation I made some relations between the readings/videos we watched and my own work/creative process. Some of these connections were:

. The connection on filtered reality in the article “Seeing Ourselves Through Technology” in regards to how we wear this “filtered” lens and its effect on some of my earlier works. My own filter was that of popular media and cultural relevance, I relate that to how I view some of my earlier works and how this filter greatly impacted how those works are portrayed. 

. I also made a connection to the article “The Medium is the Message” and a specific quote from the article that truly stood out to me: ” create a work that one could not ask what the artwork was about (the content), but rather considering the work in its entirety.” I correlated this to my future works and how I hope to create works that truly speak upon the world around me. I want to create work that is not only viewed for its content, but rather for the message that it is portraying to the viewer. I want to do this in much of the clothing that I make, in which I can create pieces that truly connect with people; making them more than just items you wear.

. Another article that I used was “Diasporic Looking” and the quote from this article was something that I felt related to some of my present work. That quote stated, “Art practice not only reflects culture and philosophy, it provides us with a way of understanding, such that art can be viewed as a mode of thinking.” When looking at some of my present work I found that I was attempting to create work that truly altered the way people think, or rather view my work. I want to continue to create works that make viewers think differently or inspire a new train of thought for them. I also looked at how my diaspora is greatly reflected in my works and how my own cultural surroundings inspire my own creative process.

. I also related to the Trevor Noah video on identity and how I felt a sort of lack of identity growing up. This lack of identity runs throughout my artwork in terms of design, in which I often times try to create an identity for myself through my own artwork. It becomes more than a form of expression, it becomes a form of self as well.

This entry was posted in Best Work, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment